The Garage

Garage Talk for Motocross, Bicycles, Street, UTV, ATV and More!

2012 FIM World Motocross (Round 16 – Germany)

 The last stop of the 2012 FIM World Motocross was in Germany, where dirtbike racing borders on religion! In grand fashion, Tony Cairoli won both MX1 motos today – that’s 21 moto wins on the season, and he’s also won the last 12 in a row – capping off a tremendous 2012 season to claim his sixth world title. Cairoli won the title by almost 100 points over second place Clement Desalle. Germany’s own Kenny Roczen returned to Europe, and raced his first ever MX1 Grand Prix – he finished second overall with moto scores of 3/2 in his homeland return.


Over in MX2,  Tommy Searle swept both motos on the Monster Energy Kawasaki. Next week at Nations he moves to the 450 bike, as he will for the 2013 season as well. American Zach Osborne finished with moto scores of 2/4 for second overall. World Champion Jeffrey Herlings completed the first lap of the first moto in seventh position – but then had bike/technical issues, and pulled off his motocross helmet in disgust. He came back in moto 2 for second position, and showed why he is the series champion.  While not a great day for Herlings, it was an amazing year and we’re sure to see more from him next year.



Here’s a look at the final 2012 FIM World Motocross scoreboard, folks:



MX1 Results
1. T Cairoli 1/1 KTM
2. K Roczen 3/2 KTM
3. C Desalle 2/4 SUZ
4. Max Nagl 7/3 KTM
5. G Paulin 4/6 KAW
6. Bobryshev 6/6 HON
7. d Dycker 5/10 KTM
8. X Boog KAW
9. C Pourcel 8/9 KAW
10. S Pourcel 10/8 KAW
MX1 Points
Tony Cairoli 692
Clement Desalle 594
Gautier Paulin 536
Chris Pourcel 521
Ken d Dycker 505
Kevin Strijbos 405
Xavier Boog 398
Tanel Leok 381
E Bobryshev 325
R Goncalves 315
MX2 Results
1. T Searle 1/1 KAW
2. Z Osborne 2/4 YAM
3. A Tonus 6/3 YAM
4. J Nicholls 4/5 KTM
5. J Tixier 3/8 KTM
6. Val. Teillet KAW
7. R Febvre KTM
8. J Herlings 0/2 KTM
9. Coldenhoff KTM
10. Al Tonkov HON
MX2 Points
Jeffrey Herlings 694
Tommy Searle 651
J v Horebeek 559
Jake Nicholls 443
Jordi Tixier 434
Joel Roelants 367
Max Anstie 333
Jose Butron 291
Coldenhoff 273
D Ferrandis 272



Well there you have it! As we already knew- when Cairoli straps up the dirtbike boots, he is a man among boys. And Ken Roczen is no slouch either! Another great season in the books- 2012 FIM World Motocross has been awesome all summer long! And as always, here’s a nifty video nugget for dessert- giving you all a look at all the action from Germany… See you all next time!




Chris Leahy
CL has been blogging it up for BTO Sports since the days when Bob "Hurricane" Hannah ruled the motocross roost. In fact, his guerilla-style coverage of the now-infamous "Massacre at Saddleback" is now considered one of the great MX blogs of all time. Enjoy the blogs, folks- that's the whole idea!